How to Restore iPhone from iCloud

In this article, we’re going to be showing you how to back up your iPhone and restore your setup to a brand-new model. If you’ve just picked up one of these new devices, you’ll find out how you can retain all of your contacts, text messages, applications, plus more – and transfer them straight over to your brand-new iPhone.

Backing Up Your Phone

Transferring your data across is actually a very simple process. You can make life easier for yourself by putting both phones side by side; this way, you can see the progress of both, including the initial setup screen on your new machine.

Start by going to the old phone that’s currently activated and navigating to the settings. The next step is to go to iCloud, and then scroll down until you see ‘iCloud backup.’

You should have an iCloud backup – if it hasn’t been backed up in a while, make sure you back it up immediately before going any further. This shouldn’t take too long; it’s just going to depend on how much data you have stored up.

Setting Up Your New Phone

While waiting on your backup, you can start on the set-up process of your new device – in our case, this was an iPhone 8 plus.

First, you’ll select your language and region, and then after this, you can select QuickStart – if you have an iPhone or iPad running with iOS 11, bring it nearby to sign in automatically.

Understandably, this is much quicker if you have this operating system and can save you a lot of time.

However, like many, we didn’t have the update and had to set it up manually. Firstly, you’ll have to choose your Wi-Fi, so put in the password and connect to your network.

By this point, our backup on the first phone was pretty much done; you can also do an iTunes backup if you prefer to do this process on the computer, but we would recommend iCloud because it makes everything so much easier.

On occasions when setting up your new iPhone, it may say it cannot be activated when setting up. If this happens, just keep on trying, usually, it should work on the second or third time around. If of course, you have an unlocked variant, you won’t have to deal with this process, and it’s just going to activate very easily the first time.

If you find your phone is taking a long time to activate, go ahead and click on the restart to start over and go back through the process again, and you should be able to activate right away. After this, you’ll be prompted to enter the building zip code and social security number.

Restoring From iCloud

After it finally activates, you’ll be able to see the phone number and the order number. After this, go ahead and click next –you’ll now be able to restore from your iCloud backup.

You’ll then get the option to set up Touch ID, which can either be done now or later and then following this you’ll have to create a passcode, which unfortunately you can’t skip.

Then you’ll get to the apps and data section, which is where you’ll get the opportunity going to restore from your iCloud or iTunes backup. Select whichever backup choice you used. If like us, you used iCloud, then you’ll have to sign in to your iCloud account. Once you enter that, iCloud settings will be updated, before terms and conditions appear.

The Restoration Process

If you have a lot of applications, it’s going to take a while to put all of this onto a brand-new iPhone. The good thing is, however, is that you’re not going to lose anything.

Backing up is simply a choice of which backup you desire, so you’re going to want to make sure it’s the latest one; you’ll be able to tell between backups by the timestamp included on each one.

Pick the backup you want, and you’ll be given the option to customize settings, but if you’d rather not, you can simply press continue. Settings such as Apple Pay, Siri, and Analytics sharing can all be chosen.

A new option with the iPhone 8 is the Trutone display. To see how this works, you can simply hold the button that appears here to see your screen both without and without the tritone display, which is pretty useful. Click on continue, which will then give you the option to set up the click for the home button, and then options for the display zoom.

After this, you’ll be able to start restoring from iCloud or iTunes; again, this could take a little while. If you do have a lot of things like applications, text messages, contacts or photos, it could take a little while, so just be patient.

All of Your Information Transferred Across

Following the reboot, there should be a screen that appears, showing that the data is restored on your iPhone. Once this finishes up, you’re going to be good to go, and you can go to your home screen.

The backup will be confirmed by a few different things, namely, you have the same wallpaper, contacts, texts, and applications (which should be downloading) all configured the same as it was on your old iPhone.

The iPhone will also install some stock applications back on the device, but otherwise, it’s pretty much identical. All you have to do is wait for your apps to download and then you’re good to go.

And that’s it – how you restore from your old iPhone to your brand-new iPhone. Let us know what you think, and if you have any more questions!

How To Fix Full ICloud Storage

Do you ever get notifications saying your iCloud storage is full?

We know this is a pet peeve for many people with iPhones. Read on, and you’ll learn how to get rid of that notification and free up your cloud storage.

How iCloud Works

Every Apple user gets 5GB of iCloud storage space for free. You can pay to upgrade your storage to 50GBs, 200GBs, or 1TB by paying a monthly fee. But for many of you, this is unnecessary. However, for some of you, you’ll need more, and there are usually the same reasons as to why this storage is full. The culprit is your photos.

First, we need to understand the distinct differences between the iCloud Photo Library and my photostream. The iCloud Photo Library permanently uploads and stores your photos and videos on iCloud. My Photo Stream uploads your photos to iCloud, so they’re automatically downloaded on devices with my photostream turned on.

Storing Photos

It only works over Wi-Fi and doesn’t fill up your iCloud storage space. It’s easiest to think of it like this – if you take a photo on your iPhone and you have my photo stream turned on, that same photo will also get downloaded to your iPad and MacBook if you have those devices and have my photo stream turned on.

That photo gets saved to your other devices’ storage and is not saved to iCloud. Please note that my photo stream only transfers photos – videos do not transfer to other devices. You’ll need to manually transfer those to your computer using Airdrop, or by plugging in your device to iTunes.

Getting Into The Settings

Let’s check out iCloud on an iPhone. Open your settings app on your iPhone and click on your Apple ID info at the top of the screen. On the next screen, click iCloud. You may see that the bar at the top of your screen is full and that a lot of it is taken up by photos.

If this is the case, plug your iPhone into a computer and transfer all your photos to your computer as a backup (important to do before we change any settings).

After you’ve done that, you can go back into iPod settings. Back in iCloud settings, click on photos under apps using iCloud. On this screen, make sure that the iCloud photo library is turned off. This feature saves all your photos to iCloud.

If you don’t pay for extra iCloud storage, this will fill up your free storage very quickly. My photo stream can remain on. Like we said earlier, this feature does not save photos to your iCloud – it downloads your photos to all your connected devices.

The other two features can remain off as well. If you’ve backed up all your photos and videos to your computer as we suggested, you can continue through any pop ups that may come up – your photos will be safe.

After changing those settings, your iCloud storage may still be full. Let’s go through how you can free up that storage.

You may need to sign in to iCloud online to see what photos were saved previously to your account. On a computer, sign in to iCloud.com using the same Apple log-in you use for your iPhone iCloud. Once signed in, you’ll be able to click on photos to view photos saved to your iCloud.

You can go through and click on photos and download them to your computer or delete them. After you’ve cleaned out your photos on iCloud.com, you should see your iCloud storage return to normal.

Just remember the key points above and you should be fine. If you start to see certain apps taking up a lot of iCloud space in the storage bar, you can always turn those apps off in the iCloud settings.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.